Managing your own diabetes without medication

A Disney Day

Image representing The Walt Disney Company as ...

Image via CrunchBase

Hi everyone.  Another nice day here in sunny Florida.  I couldn’t sleep last night, so I was up pretty early (for me).  Took my blood sugar thinking that since I didn’t get a full night’s sleep, it would be high, but it was 91.  I was pleased.

So my husband and I walked around Hollywood Studios today for a couple of hours.  The weather was nice, the crowds were small and we enjoyed the fresh air and a bit of exercise.  We had dinner at the Prime Time 50’s Cafe, which has food that I am not supposed to have, but I had some of it anyway.  Since I had that, I won’t eat a lot of sugars or carbs for the rest of the night.  And since we walked all over Disney, I’m not going to exercise on the Wii tonight.

Here is what my meals and snacks were today:

Breakfast – Quaker Organic Instant Oatmeal with a cup of skim milk

Lunch – Cup of Campbell’s Old Fashioned Vegetable Soup with some saltines

Dinner – Small helping of Grandma’s Chicken Pot Pie with sugar-free cheesecake for dessert (from the Prime Time Cafe).  I did take my blood sugar 2 hours after I ate to see if my blood sugar was too high after eating all that not-g00d-for-me food and it was 117, which was really good.

I had a cup of popcorn today, an apple, Nature Valley Roasted Almond Nut Bar, 2  pieces of Dove dark chocolate promises, some mixed nuts, a 4 oz. container of Stonyfield 0% fat Organic Strawberry Yogurt.  I have had 2 cups of unsweetened green tea and lots of water.

I usually try to have more veggies than I did today, but today was one of those day’s that I wasn’t going to stress over what I ate while we were out, but it will be interesting to see what my blood sugar readings are tomorrow morning.

I really want to try to lose about 50 more pounds.  I have lost over 30 pounds just by finding out I had diabetes and switching to a low-carb, low sugar diet and exercising.  But during Christmas, I just decided not to stress myself out about my diet and just make sure I didn’t gain any weight and keep my sugars on track.

Well, thanks for reading again today.  I will keep trying to improve and learn more about blogging, adding more pictures of foods and meals, and some recipes, as I go along.  Have a great day tomorrow.

Comments on: "A Disney Day" (2)

  1. Need more candy! Ha ha. You’re doing great. Definitely add more pics. We like to see the yummy food and pics of you too!
    love you

  2. Haha, no more candy. That’s how I got in this shape! Thanks Lizzie!

Leave a Reply

